Tampa Shore Excursions
USA · 14 independent tours
Across USA — laws, safety & health
National rules and risks that apply anywhere in USA — relayed from official sources, not our verdict. We pass on what the authority says and leave the judgement to you.
Laws that catch visitors out
- The national legal age for buying and drinking alcohol is 21.
- Illegal drugs, including cannabis, carry severe penalties — a long jail sentence and heavy fines, including when transiting through airports. (US federal law applies even where a state has legalised cannabis.)
- Always carry a passport showing you have permission to enter or remain in the US.
- US law prohibits importing, exporting, making, selling or transporting drug paraphernalia.
Drones
Visitors flying a drone recreationally in the US must take the FAA’s free online TRUST safety test and carry proof. A drone of 250 g or more must have Remote ID and be registered — on the FAA DroneZone, or by filing a Notice of Identification if it is already registered in your home country. Fly at or below 400 ft in uncontrolled (Class G) airspace, keep it within sight, and do not fly over people.
via US FAA — Recreational Flyers & Community-Based Organizations · 25 Jun 2026
Scams to watch
Do not leave passports in rental cars (especially the boot) — vehicles driven by people who look like tourists may be targeted.
Health hazards
The FCDO health page lists Zika virus, West Nile virus and altitude sickness (in parts of the country) among the health risks in the US. There is no reciprocal healthcare agreement — treatment is expensive, so comprehensive travel insurance is essential. Check current detail and vaccine recommendations on TravelHealthPro before you travel. The FCDO safety and security page adds that the Atlantic hurricane season normally runs June to November and the Pacific season May to November, and that hurricanes can affect coastal regions, Hawaii and Guam. Its instruction is to monitor approaching storms on the US National Hurricane Center website and follow instructions from local authorities, including evacuation orders.
via UK FCDO travel advice — USA (health + safety and security) · 22 Aug 2026
Relayed from UK FCDO travel advice — USA · checked 18 Jul 2026
Traffic drives on the right. Look left first when you cross the road.
Docking & terminals in Tampa
Three cruise terminals, all along the Channel District on the city-centre waterfront — Port Tampa Bay homeports eight vessels from five cruise lines.
- Terminal 2 — 651 Channelside Drive — Channel District, on the edge of the city centre (Walk out into the Channel District; the port's own guide says guests are 'just steps from the sights, sounds and experiences of Downtown Tampa'.)
- Terminal 3 — 815 Channelside Drive — the central cruise terminal (Walkable to the Channel District and Water Street; the port parking garage is directly across the street.)
- Terminal 6 — 1333 McKay Street — northern end of the Channel District (The fare-free TECO Line Streetcar stops at McKay Street & Channelside Drive (Port Tampa Bay Station), on the terminal's corner.)
Mobility & step-free access
Getting around between the pier and town:
- Walk — The Channel District, Sparkman Wharf, Water Street and the Florida Aquarium are immediately around the terminals; the Tampa Riverwalk runs 2.6 miles along the Hillsborough River through the heart of the city centre.
- Streetcar — All TECO Line Streetcar rides are fare free, every 15 minutes (about 25 minutes end-to-end). Port-side stops at McKay St & Channelside Dr, York St and the Florida Aquarium; runs to Ybor City one way and Dick Greco Plaza in the city centre the other.
- Taxi / transfer — Tampa International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Channelside District, per the port's own guide.
Step-free options vary by pier and by the day — confirm the specifics with your operator and the ship’s guest-services desk before booking.
Heading back at the end of the day: Three separate terminals share the Channel District (2 and 3 on Channelside Drive, 6 on McKay Street) — check which one your ship uses before arranging drop-off or meeting points.
Cruise lines don’t always tell you which pier you’re on, and it’s easy to forget once you’re ashore. As you leave the ship, note or photograph your pier’s name — then give your taxi that exact pier (or your ship’s name) for the trip back.
Your exact pier is assigned per sailing — confirm it on the ship's daily programme or gangway signage before heading ashore.
Getting around & must-sees in Tampa
Getting around
Central Tampa is on the doorstep — the port's own guide puts guests 'just steps from' the city, and the fare-free TECO Line Streetcar links the terminals to Ybor City and the city centre.
- Walk — The Channel District, Sparkman Wharf, Water Street and the Florida Aquarium are immediately around the terminals; the Tampa Riverwalk runs 2.6 miles along the Hillsborough River through the heart of the city centre.
- Streetcar — All TECO Line Streetcar rides are fare free, every 15 minutes (about 25 minutes end-to-end). Port-side stops at McKay St & Channelside Dr, York St and the Florida Aquarium; runs to Ybor City one way and Dick Greco Plaza in the city centre the other.
- Taxi / transfer — Tampa International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Channelside District, per the port's own guide.
Must-see sights
- The Florida Aquarium — In the Channel District, steps from the cruise terminals — its own streetcar stop is at Cumberland Ave & Channelside Dr.
- Tampa Riverwalk — Stretches 2.6 miles along the Hillsborough River through the heart of the city centre, linking parks, museums and restaurants.
- Ybor City — Tampa's historic Latin Quarter — reached directly on the fare-free TECO Line Streetcar from the port-side stops.
- Sparkman Wharf — Waterfront dining and shops in the Channel District, named by the port itself among the attractions on the terminals' doorstep.
Key facts only — confirm times, fares and seasonal openings locally.
Operator policies we’ve checked in Tampa
Before a tour earns its trust pills, we read the operator’s own site — their terms, cancellation and accessibility pages — and relay what they state. These are the operators’ own terms, not our verdicts; confirm when booking.
-
Adventure Cruises
- Cancellation policy — This operator publishes no cancellation policy of its own that we could find — check the cancellation terms shown at booking.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Blind Pass Boat and Jet Ski Rental
- Cancellation policy — Cancelling requires 24 hours notice to avoid a $100 cancellation fee, and no-shows are charged the full reservation rate; the operator does not publish a full-refund promise.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Chute'Em Up Clearwater
- Cancellation policy — Cancellations under 24 hours incur a 100% charge; the operator does not publish refund terms for earlier cancellations.
- Accessibility — Parasailing minimum age is 5 years, and the operator cannot fly anyone weighing over 265 lbs.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Gators Parasail
- Free cancellation — verified with conditions: Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the booking. Cancelling later, or not showing up, can forfeit the full amount.
Checked 9 Aug 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Get Up and Go Kayaking
- Cancellation policy — All purchases are non-refundable under the operator's terms; cancelling or rescheduling up to 24 hours ahead requires a paid Trip Protection add-on. Unsafe weather brings a reschedule, gift card, or full refund.
- Accessibility — Guests need upper-body mobility and the capacity to walk up and down steps to enter and exit the kayaks.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 2 tours listed on this page
-
Levique Tours and Rentals
- Cancellation policy — The operator requires cancellation at least 5 days in advance but does not state what refund, if any, is then given — check the cancellation terms shown at booking.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Sea Glass Kayaking
- Free cancellation — verified with conditions: Full refund when cancelled 24 hours or more before the scheduled tour time; cancellations within 24 hours are not refunded, in the operator's wording.
- Accessibility — Kayaks carry a weight limit of 250 lbs per person (425 lbs per tandem kayak); guests need upper-body mobility and must manage steps to enter and exit the kayaks.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Showdown ATV Rentals
- Free cancellation — verified with conditions: Full refund with more than 72 hours notice; cancellations inside 72 hours receive a voucher for future use, not a refund.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Tampa Golf Cart Tours
- Cancellation policy — We could not read this operator's website to confirm its cancellation policy — check the cancellation terms shown at booking.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
Tampa Minibus Tours
- Cancellation policy — Cancelling 24 or more hours ahead earns a credit for a future booking, not a cash refund; no refunds or credits are given with less notice.
- Accessibility — The operator states its tour vehicle does not have wheelchair access.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
The Florida Aquarium
- Cancellation policy — Tickets are non-refundable and non-transferable; unscanned general-admission tickets may be rescheduled up to one year from the original date.
- Accessibility — The aquarium states wheelchair accessibility to all habitats and exhibits, elevator access to all upper levels, and automatic door push plates on public access doors.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
The Pelican St. Pete
- Free cancellation — verified with conditions: Full refund or credit with 24 or more hours notice — the operator does not specify which of the two applies.
Checked 27 Jul 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
-
ZooTampa at Lowry Park
- Cancellation policy — The zoo publishes no ticket refund or cancellation policy. A free return visit may be offered if severe weather spoils your day, but the zoo does not say whether tickets bought through a reseller qualify.
Checked 9 Aug 2026 · covers 1 tour listed on this page
Local know-hows in Tampa
Money
- Currency
- United States dollar (USD)
- Cards
- Credit and debit cards are accepted almost everywhere, including for dining, hotels and transport.
- ATMs
- ATMs are widely available.
- Tipping
- Tipping is customary in the U.S. — typically 15–20% at restaurants, and a few dollars for taxis, porters and housekeeping.
Practicalities
- Language
- English (Spanish is also widely spoken in Tampa — Ybor City is the city's historic Latin Quarter).
- Tap water
- Tap water is safe to drink. The Tampa Water Department — serving close to 717,000 people across Tampa and unincorporated Hillsborough County — reports its drinking water meets all state and federal drinking-water requirements, running tens of thousands of quality tests a year; the supply comes primarily from the Hillsborough River, treated at the city's own plant. (Note: the 2026 'Extreme' water-shortage order restricts outdoor irrigation only, not drinking water.)
- Plugs
- Type A / Type B sockets, 120 V, 60 Hz (North American standard). Non-US appliances may need a voltage converter.
Key facts to know before you step off — confirm anything time-sensitive locally.
Port busyness in Tampa
Moderately busy
Port Tampa Bay homeports eight vessels from five cruise lines across three terminals, but central Tampa and the Channel District absorb arrivals easily — crowds disperse on foot into the city.
Peak pattern: Busiest when multiple homeport ships turn around on the same day at the three Channel District terminals.
- Eight homeported vessels from five cruise lines (port's own figure)
- Three terminals share the Channel District
- The city centre on the doorstep disperses crowds
This shows a typical day for the time of year — actual crowds vary on your date, and it isn’t a guarantee.
What we’ve checked in Tampa — and when
We last checked the facts on this page on 20 Jul 2026. Live travel advisories refresh automatically from the official sources.
- Docking & getting ashore
- Verified by The Excursion Edit against official sources · 20 Jul 2026
- Getting around
- Verified by The Excursion Edit against official sources · 20 Jul 2026
- How busy it gets
- Verified by The Excursion Edit against official sources · 20 Jul 2026
- Operator policies
- From each operator’s own site and terms · 9 Aug 2026
- Travel advisories
- FCDO (GOV.UK) & US State Department · refreshed automatically